Significance of Vishu ~ Swami Chinmayananda

[Excerpts from a letter written to a devotee by Swami Chinmayananda]

The Lord is ever guiding each of us through fit doses of experiences, in order to awaken us from our fearful dream of samsar to the realisation that WE ARE IN HIM ALREADY! Pain is His kindest means to wake us up the quickest.

Do you remember those Vishu-days of your child-hood, when parents and relatives with the best of intentions almost “tortured” you to wake up and have the Lord’s Darshan and gain “the VISHU – KAI – NEETAM”? To the one sleeping, even while knowing that the KANI-DARSAN is grand, and the KAI-NEETAM(loving money-tips) a pleasurable gain, at the moment of the early dawn, the one so lovingly trying to wake him up would seem a “torturer” indeed!

So do we consider Him as a monstrous, cruel, blind, heavenly Power as He gives us painful jerks in life to awaken us to the KANI and the KAI-NEETAM. On realising Him alone shall we understand that He is the most kind, soft, wise Power residing ever in us, which alone is His heaven. At the very touch of discomfort you have woken up and have got ready for the Darshan. This is the end of all the unpleasantness of the festive VISHU-DAY !

Now surrender yourself completely, entirely, unto Him who has awakened you, and keep the eyes closed tight! Let not the worldly charms and false values enter thy recognition even for a second. Till you get His Darshan, through the blindening lights, you should look at nothing else. Close the eyes tight and call out for Him to guide you to the seat of DARSHAN. He will help you by hand. He shall warn you of each threshold to be crossed, each turn to be taken, each impediment on the way to be avoided!! The completer the surrender, the easier you shall reach the KANI !!

As we have thus in the Vishu Kani, mainly three stages, viz., the WAKING, the REACHING and the DARSHAN, so too, in spiritual progress, there are three well-marked out stages, viz., the WAKING,the PASSAGE and the EXPERIENCE.

When a Jiva gets ripe in the welter of millions of lifes’ bitter experiences (or at least surely incomplete joys) and gains in the present embodiment a deep dispassion at the mere touch of an incident, the individual Jiva has “Awakened” and is ready to be guided to the Seat-of-Vision. You have come to this stage. Now please enter the second stage; the Reaching (of the Kani) or the “Passage” in the spiritual pilgrimage.

…….to one who can, like Mira, forget herself in her Prem for Him, the Murali-Manohar, even a Kalpa is but a second for a Bhakta living in her self-forgetful Divine experience of the life in Him!! Love (Devotion) is the noblest of Paths, and Upasana (Kirtan, Japa, Dhyana, Swadhyaya etc.) can lead us to the next stage of Pro-gress, the Darshan (of the Kani) or the “Experience” of the Absolute Truth. All Srutis are unanimous on this point. The very construction of the Vedas, (first Karmakand and then Jnanakand) is a clear declaration of this fact.

All Sadhana “purifies” the Inner Instrumentβ€”the apparatus for all investigations, enquiries, cognitions, and experiences.

You have been “awakened”. Surrender now completely to the Guru. He shall guide you to the seat of KANI-DARSHAN. Don’t open your eyes, till He allows you and commands, “open and see!!” Step by step alone can we accomplish a climb! Mile by mile we must cross to reach the SANNIDHI !!

Sri Krishna Govinda Hare Murare! Hey Natha Narayana Vasudeva!!


For updates of posts on Telegram join the group :

On whatsapp:

Follow us on Instagram :

𝐁𝐑𝐚𝐫𝐚𝐭𝐒𝐲𝐚 𝐊𝐚𝐭𝐑𝐚 π•πšπ’π›π‘πšπ―πš – 𝐕𝐨π₯ 𝟏 , 𝟐 , πŸ‘ , πŸ’ & 5 (Books for Children)

For bulk orders and discounts DM Email :

To buy books on Amazon:

Volume 1:

Volume 2:

Volume 3:

Volume 4:

Volume 5:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s